Resolutions

People are reflective this time of year. As a reflective type myself, it intrigues me when others feel the urge to slow down, dig deep, and ponder life. For some this amounts to daydreaming while others stop and really take stock of life.

I see lots of jubilation over the milestones and achievements of the previous year (graduation, moving, new job, engagement/marriage, new house/apartment). Some are disappointed and frustrated over failures or missed opportunities. Others express sorrow over love ones lost. Lots to think about. Reading through the social media feeds it’s clear that most people are simply thankful for life itself.

The possibility of a new day and a new year is refreshing. The slate is clean, the page turned, opportunities ripe for the picking. These reflections lead us to one thing: resolutions.

I won’t let today won’t be like the last. This year will be different, the best yet. The old me is in the rearview mirror, and I’m moving on. Jaw set, face to the wind, we strike out to change the world. One resolution at a time.

But I wonder about these resolutions. I’ve lived just long enough to know that most of my resolutions amount to little more than wishful thinking. Resolutions seem like cheap cookware. After a couple of uses, they’re useless.

Now I’m not being critical of resolutions. I’ve known people to keep them; I’ve got a few goals myself. And it was through that process of thoughtful reflection that spurred most of these resolutions in the first place. So I’m not cynical of the New Year resolution; just a little skeptical.

What if we could dig a little deeper than resolutions? What if we could get behind them to something better, more enduring? What would a changed/improved life look like?

On a different note, have any of your New Year’s resolutions stuck?

Wherever you are, all is not lost. The year is still young!

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment